Overnight Oats: Banana and Raisin

2

July 26, 2013 by Dewi

DSC_0156

My new favourite thing. When you fancy a change from the usual porridge, try making these overnight oats.

 

I love porridge. Love it. There is no better breakfast. I even wrote a blog post about how to cook perfect porridge! I don’t subscribe to the notion that it’s strictly for cold winter morning, I enjoy it all year round! But in the recent warm weather, I’ll be honest and say that standing over a hot steaming stove first thing in the morning hasn’t been all that appealing.

Then I discovered something.

Overnight oats.

And they are a revelation.

I was reading through some different food blogs recently and as I was flicking through I landed on a blog that caught my attention: The Oatmeal Artist, a great blog dedicated to all things oats. I saw something I’d never thought of doing before, which was rather than cooking porridge in the morning, you soak the oats in milk (and all manner of other lovely things) overnight in the fridge.

I can’t tell you how great this is. It takes no time at all to make up a jar before bed and then you get to wake up knowing that in the fridge is the best breakfast you’ve ever tasted. Waiting, just for you. They’re great to have cold straight from the fridge, or if you would like them warmed up then just bang them in the microwave. Delicious oats. Absolutely no cooking required.

So, inspired by The Oatmeal Artist, this is the first post (of many I’m sure) where I’ll be sharing my own overnight oats recipes and ideas in the hope that you lot will enjoy them as much as I do!

This first post is meant as a sort of guide, but also to serve as a basic (and delicious) recipe to kick things off.

Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (45g) porridge oats
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) milk – or other liquid such as soya milk, almond milk, coconut milk etc.
  • 1 small (or 1/2 large) banana – as well as flavouring the oats, this serves as a natural sweetener. Other fruits can be used to sweeten the oats too, for example grated apples or pitted dates.
  • Small handful raisins
  • Pinch of salt

DSC_0141

That’s all you need for this recipe, but as I share more ideas for overnight oats, you’ll see how you can add all sorts to the mix such as other fruits, nuts, seeds, yogurt, cocoa powder, nut butters, extra sweeteners (if you fancy) like honey or maple syrup, anything you can think of, really! You can add them straight to the jar, or have them fresh in the morning, it’s entirely up to you.

Method

Take your banana and mash it up with a fork, until it becomes like a paste.

DSC_0143

Then start with a clean, empty jar. Note: Obviously, you don’t have to use a jar. In fact, when I didn’t have an empty jar I used an old chinese food container until we finished off the last of the strawberry jam!

Add the oats…

DSC_0144

The banana…

DSC_0145

… And the milk.

DSC_0146

Now add a pinch of salt, seal the lid and shake the jar well.

DSC_0147

When the ingredients have combined, add the raisins to the mix, and shake again.

DSC_0151

Now pop the oats in the fridge and leave them overnight to become gorgeous and delicious. They seem to become so luxurious and feel like a real indulgence, when the reality is that they’re so simple to prepare, and make for a wholesome and healthy breakfast!

In the morning, find your jar of goodness waiting for you.

DSC_0153

Either eat them straight from the jar or pour them into a bowl.

DSC_0154

I absolutely love this combination of banana and raisin, and I personally like to dollop on a teaspoon of gooey, crunchy peanut butter just before I dig in.

DSC_0157

So there you have it, overnight oats! My new favourite thing. Give them a try and feel free to send me any ideas or recipes that you have, I’d love to hear them.

2 thoughts on “Overnight Oats: Banana and Raisin

  1. I was looking for banana smoothie ideas and stumbled across your blog. So exciting to see fellow law students food blogging! 🙂 Drop by sometime @thebakingfirm!

    • Dewi says:

      Thank you! Just had a look at your blog – it’s great! Love the cherry crumble cake and your dog is ridiculously cute…

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

VegCharlotte

Living Vegan In Charlotte, NC - Easy Vegan Recipes - Vegan Restaurant, Product, and Cookbook Reviews

The Little Library Café

Cakes. Desserts. Sweets. And Books.

The Veg Space

ludicrously tasty vegetarian & vegan recipes

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

chilliandmint.wordpress.com/

Herbs and Spices Rock My World

Things My Belly Likes

Where eating to live and living to eat are not mutually exclusive

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983

