Nyonya Lime Chicken Curry

3

February 25, 2014 by Dewi

IMG_1132

Ning is the name of chef Norman Musa’s Malaysian restaurant in Manchester’s Northern Quarter. The other week, my Dad came to visit me up in Manchester and, as we both love a good curry, we booked a table at Ning for our dinner. Having been given Musa’s cook book for Christmas (which generously includes recipes from the restaurant menu) I was excited for what would be my first experience of real Malaysian food.

The meal did not disappoint. It was superb! My main was something I’d never eaten before: a Nyonya lime chicken curry. It was delicious and not really like any other curry I’d eaten. There was a distinct sweet and sour flavour to the sauce, which was laced with rich coconut milk and fresh tomato.

When I got home the first thing I did was grab the Ning recipe book and flip to the index.

N…N…N… There it was: Nyonya Lime Chicken Curry, p.114.

To make Chef Musa’s curries, he recommends blending many of the ingredients (such as lemongrass, ginger, dried chillies) with some water to form a paste. For some of the products in the book (tamarind, kaffir lime leaves, dried chillies) I took an afternoon jaunt over to Manchester’s Chinatown, where I was able to pick up everything I needed. Not just for this curry, but for others in the book, too. Even the Malaysian spice blends recommended by Musa himself. See the photo below for some of the goodies I found (cheaply, too; at far more reasonable prices than the big supermarkets offer).

IMG_1074

Manchester’s Chinatown

IMG_1016

You can pick up these exciting ingredients from any decent Asian supermarket.

So, back to the curry. I spent a bit of time blending (separately, with some water) lemongrass, dried chillies and ginger; before portioning them into zip-lock bags for freezing. Around 20 dried chillies, blended with 100 ml of water makes roughly 10 tablespoons of chilli paste. I portioned this into 5 bags of 2 tablespoons each. This way, if I decide to make a curry which needs chilli paste, I can grab a bag from the freezer

IMG_1409

I love being able to grab these from the freezer. I make batches of them every so often and they don’t take long to defrost, either.

The sweet and sour notes – a distinct characteristic of this Nyonya curry – are achieved by balancing sugar for sweetness and tamarind for sourness. I picked up a jar of tamarind paste from an asian supermarket for less than a couple of quid, and it should last me a good while. The kaffir lime leaves give the curry it’s brilliantly fresh, citrus flavour. My personal addition of crunchy carrots and peppers gives the curry a little something extra in terms of texture which I think really works.

Serves 4

Ingredients
  • 800g chicken breast (4 skinless, boneless fillets) thinly sliced
  • 4 Tbsp blended lemongrass (2 trimmed stalks, blended with a splash of water)
  • 1 large onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 Tbsp grated/blended ginger
  • 4 Tbsp dried chilli paste (8-10 dried chillies, boiled for 5 minutes and blended with a splash of water)
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 4 Tbsp tamarind paste
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 200ml water
  • 6 kaffir lime leaves
  • 100ml coconut milk
  • 2 tomatoes, roughly chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, very thinly sliced
  • 1 red pepper, very thinly sliced
  • 1 fresh red chilli, sliced (for garnish)
Method

In a wok or a deep pan, warm some vegetable oil over a moderate heat.

In a food processor, blend the garlic and onion with a splash of water to form a puree.

Add the onion and garlic purée to the pan with the blended lemongrass and ginger.

Cook for around 7 minutes.

IMG_1079

Add the chilli paste, turmeric, tamarind paste, salt, sugar and the kaffir lime leaves.

Cook until the oil separates from the ingredients, which should take around 5 minutes.

IMG_1090

Add the chicken to the pan along with the water and leave to simmer for around 7 minutes, until the chicken is cooked.

IMG_1095

Pour in the coconut milk and add the carrot, peppers and tomatoes.

IMG_1100

Bring to the boil and leave to simmer for around 3-4 minutes. You want the vegetables to stay fresh and crunchy.

IMG_1139

Garnish with fresh chilli and serve with fragrant jasmine rice.

3 thoughts on “Nyonya Lime Chicken Curry

  1. That looks fantastic Dewi!
    I love when the minds behind the good restaurants give you a little sneak peak into what goes on behind the scenes, and add some exclusive recipes that they have been using in their books 🙂
    The curry looks amazing! I can only imagine the lovely zingyness and the mellow undertones of the coconut milk! Mmmm 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness, I love this. It really makes it extra special when you can get the exact authentic ingredients doesn’t it? We’re so lucky to have access to them. Great post! x

  3. That looks delicious! Suddenly you’ve got me missing Manchester!! I’ll definitely give that a go 😀

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

VegCharlotte

Living Vegan In Charlotte, NC - Easy Vegan Recipes - Vegan Restaurant, Product, and Cookbook Reviews

The Little Library Café

Cakes. Desserts. Sweets. And Books.

The Veg Space

easy vegan comfort food recipes

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade with love..

chilliandmint.wordpress.com/

Herbs and Spices Rock My World

Things My Belly Likes

Where eating to live and living to eat are not mutually exclusive

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983

