Blueberry and Vanilla Overnight Oats

6

June 8, 2014 by Dewi

DSC_0350

The more hardcore readers of TBCC out there, those heroes who have been here from the beginning, may remember my obsession with overnight oats which began when I discovered the brilliant porridge-loving blog, The Oatmeal Artist. Since then, things haven’t changed much breakfast-wise and refrigerator oatmeal is still my absolute favourite wake-up meal. I eat some fun and interesting variety of oats on six if not seven mornings of the week. I simply don’t function properly without my early morning routine of fresh coffee, the news on Radio 4 and my bowl of delicious, filling oats.

It’s been a surprisingly long while since my last overnight oats post and time seems to be passing at a quite staggering pace; a point which really hits home as I contemplate – with genuine excitement – coming up to the last two weeks of my academic life and the prospect of facing the real world, remote from my long-familiar student bubble.

June is upon us: a month which – along with rising temperatures and blue (or less frequently grey) skies – brings with it an abundance of pale legs, socks and sandals, the crackling of charcoal and chiming of ice cubes knocking around in glasses of cold cider. Summer is around the corner and as I go barreling on towards a new season in my own life, some great ingredients are just coming into season, too. (Thematic link skills!) Blueberries, for example, are just starting to appear at my local grocer in huge quantities and at low prices. It’s great!

Delicious on their own, antioxidant-packed blueberries are also great blended in a smoothie, stirred into thick greek yoghurt, or – you guessed it – in overnight oats! Combining these sweet and tangy navy pearls with oats, vanilla, banana and honey makes for the perfect summer breakfast. Just add coffee, radio, and (where possible) some early morning sunshine.

I like to add a handful of blueberries to the jar the night before and another handful in the morning. The ones in the jar overnight soften as their natural sweetness flavours the porridge, which contrasts wonderfully with the fresh crunchy berries added right before eating. Add a splash of ice cold milk and a drizzle of honey and you’re in porridge paradise.

Serves 1

Ingredients
  • 1/2 cup (45-50g) porridge oats
  • 1/2 cup (125ml) milk – or water, soya milk, almond milk, coconut milk etc.
  • 1 medium or 1/2 a large banana, mashed
  • 2 small handfuls of blueberries (one for the night before and another for the morning)
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt (don’t miss this out!)
  • Honey
Method

In a jar (or any other air-tight container) combine the oats, milk, banana, half of the blueberries, the vanilla extract and a pinch of salt.

Shake well to combine, and place in the fridge overnight.

The next morning, add the rest of the berries, a splash of cold milk and a drizzle of good runny honey.

DSC_0351

6 thoughts on “Blueberry and Vanilla Overnight Oats

  1. I love how you have that natural knack for describing things, the Summer scene totally got me daydreaming, although looking out the window here in Glasgow, it has now started pouring down (thankfully it stayed dry when I went off for a jog this morning with my flatmate!).
    Overnight oats is delicious, and I have jotted down a few oats recipes for the coming week to try. I’ll also be making the salami and pasta bake of yours in the coming week for dinner too – can’t wait! 😀
    I hope you’re making the most of your weekend, and that the sun is shining down south 🙂 And all the best for the last weeks of student-life! Make the most of it ^ ^
    x

    • Dewi says:

      Ah thank you Julie – that’s very kind of you. And hopefully your mind managed to stray from the Glaswegian rain for a moment at least! It always makes me happy to hear about other peoples’ love of overnight oats, it’s just the best breakfast ever. Hope you enjoy the pasta bake!

      • Cheers, I’m looking forward to making it! You just reminded me to make some overnighties for tomorrow. Just going for the one with bananas, and added a bit of cinnamon – sorted 😀

  2. I am definitely trying that – I always get told off for leaving the porridge pan in the soak in the sink when I go off to work – but I need my oats in the morning! What sort of consistency does it have?

    • Dewi says:

      Hah, that’s a genius reason to try overnight oats! The texture is lush, creamy and smooth. If you’ve ever had bircher muesli it’s similar (just with milk instead of apple juice).

  3. […] recipe I properly tried from someone else’s blog was Dewi’s delicious overnight oats ( https://boycancook.wordpress.com/2014/06/08/blueberry-and-vanilla-overnight-oats/ ) and while it got my lover very excitedly eating oats for the first time ever, he can’t work […]

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

VegCharlotte

Living Vegan In Charlotte, NC - Easy Vegan Recipes - Vegan Restaurant, Product, and Cookbook Reviews

The Little Library Café

Cakes. Desserts. Sweets. And Books.

The Veg Space

ludicrously tasty vegetarian & vegan recipes

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

chilliandmint.wordpress.com/

Herbs and Spices Rock My World

Things My Belly Likes

Where eating to live and living to eat are not mutually exclusive

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983

