Apple and Blackberry Flapjacks

6

September 23, 2014 by Dewi

IMG_3689

How quickly is this year going? Seriously. It’s nearly OCTOBER. Summer is drawing to a close and I’m noticing those start-of-autumn changes taking place outside: the leaves are changing colour and the days are drawing shorter. The temperature is dropping and so too are the apples from their branches. The garden has become absolutely littered with perfectly ripe, golden orbs. I’ve got bags of them, each one demanding to be used before they lose their freshness and begin to wrinkle. The same goes for blackberries, which are perfectly ripe for picking from the thorny shrubs lining the field opposite the house.

IMG_3650

Using ingredients picked just yards from my front door rather than from supermarket shelves is something I found quite exciting; this is certainly a proper fall harvest recipe! Additionally, having to navigate stinging nettles, spiders’ webs and thorny branches makes the end result extra tasty.

This abundance of autumnal ingredients has coincided with me FINALLY deciding to bake something to take into work. Being the firm’s resident food blogger I feel a level of expectation, or maybe a duty, that I bring some delicious creation into work. But that’s just me being daft. The truth is it’s just plain nice to share things with your colleagues other than just the hours between 8am and 5:30pm.

I reckoned that taking a tray of something sweet in on a Monday morning would take the sting out of the start of the week for everyone at work. I wanted to do my part to make 5:30pm Friday not seem quite so far away (and not just to curry favour with the partners…).

Tray-bakes are ideal in these instances as they’re easy to cut into enough slices that no one in the office misses out. With that in mind, I opted to make a batch of apple and blackberry flapjacks.

IMG_3661

For this recipe I’ve used brown sugar for that rich toffee flavour which goes so well with apples. I’ve also subbed honey for golden syrup, for no other reason than that I had a couple of jars in the cupboard which needed using. By scattering the tangy fruit between the sweet flapjack mixture, everyone gets a square which not only tastes delicious, but looks quite cool with the dark jammy layer sandwiched by chewy, amber oats.

IMG_3686

It’s worth noting that this recipe is the first sweet bake I’ve ever put on the blog. So yeah, the boy can bake, too.

IMG_3695

Makes 20
Ingredients
  • 450g porridge oats
  • 250g salted butter (Has to be salted. The more yellow in colour, the better!)
  • 200g light brown sugar
  • 100g honey
  • 150g grated apple (no need to peel)
  • 100g fresh blackberries, rinsed and drained
  • Juice of half a small lemon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
Method

Preheat your oven to 180℃ then grease and line a 24cm baking dish.

In a bowl, mix together the oats and cinnamon.

In another bowl, combine the apple, blackberries and lemon juice.

Place the butter, sugar and honey in a saucepan and leave over a medium-low heat until everything has dissolved.

Take the pan off the heat and stir in the oats.

Pour two thirds of the oat mixture into the baking dish and pat down firmly.

Scatter over the fruit and top with the remaining flapjack mixture.

Put the dish in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes until golden on top.

Leave the flapjack to cool in the tin before cutting into squares.

The squares will keep for about a week in an airtight container (but they will NEVER last that long!)

IMG_3682

6 thoughts on “Apple and Blackberry Flapjacks

  1. I approve of the boy baking, and it’s nice to hear from you again 😀 I went blackberry picking with some friends a couple of weeks ago too, and I picked a good 4 or so litres of blackberries. I made a crumble, but it turned out a little too tart, you live and you learn!
    Still, I have a good few boxes with blackberries in the freezer now, ready to go, so I can still practise. These flapjack squares look amazing layered like that 😀 x

    • Dewi says:

      Thanks Jules!, nice to hear from you too! Blackberries are so good this time of year – If you have ones which are a little too tart, then a batch of blackberry jam could be just the thing! Perfect with winter porridge.

  2. I cannot believe I am only coming across this blog now – it is everything I love in a blog and more! I just love when other students appreciate the importance of proper cooking!

    • Dewi says:

      Thank you for such kind words, Sophie, they’re very much appreciated! I’m glad to have found your blog too, I much prefer ‘chatty’ blogs to ones which are just lists of boring recipes. It’s nice to get some insight from the writer isn’t it?

  3. Yum, I LOVE flapjacks! I’m so jealous of the fresh blackberries that you have access to – I have to make do with the frozen kind!

  4. Heather says:

    As one of the recipients of this delicious treat, may I say it was most delicious! I recommend this recipe to become everyone’s staple autumnal bake, especially something to create if you have children, they will love collecting the ingredients and making a sticky, gooey delight to share!! – H

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 586 other followers

VegCharlotte

Living Vegan In Charlotte, NC - Easy Vegan Recipes - Vegan Restaurant, Product, and Cookbook Reviews

The Little Library Café

Cakes. Desserts. Sweets. And Books.

The Veg Space

ludicrously tasty vegetarian & vegan recipes

Just Homemade

Nothing is as good as homemade..

chilliandmint.wordpress.com/

Herbs and Spices Rock My World

Things My Belly Likes

Where eating to live and living to eat are not mutually exclusive

With The Grains

Whole Grains, Words and Wanderings by Quelcy

Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983

