Chana Masala (Chickpea and Tomato Curry)

10

July 26, 2014 by Dewi

IMG_3007

Well, good people of the internet, I’ve just finished the second week in my new job and I can’t believe how much I’m enjoying it. The office, the people, the work; everything there is great. I’m finding, though, that when I get home after a long day that as soon as I walk through the front door I unconsciously head straight for the fridge, feeling absolutely ravenous. For that reason, I’ve revived my old university habit of batch cooking! This way, when I get in from work I know there’s dinner already prepared waiting for me on the fridge shelf.

My dish of choice this week? Chana Masala – a chickpea and tomato curry. I ate this dish last weekend when out at a local indian restaurant celebrating a mate’s birthday. I tend to prefer vegetarian dishes at Indian restaurants; they seem somehow more authentic. 

The textures and flavours with this chickpea curry were superb, so much so that I was totally inspired to recreate it and enjoy it throughout the week.

It’s rather a basic dish: the chickpeas sit in a simple and spicy tomato masala sauce, laced with soft and sweet sliced onions.

Best enjoyed with good friends, hearty laughter, warm flatbreads and cold beer.

IMG_2994

Serves 4

Ingredients

  • 2 x 400g tins of chickpeas, drained and rinsed (or about 500g cooked chickpeas)
  • 400g chopped tomatoes
  • 2 red onions, finely sliced
  • 2 fresh chillies, finely chopped
  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed and very finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp grated ginger
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste/purée
  • 2 tsp each of ground cumin, ground coriander and garam masala
  • 1/2 tsp ground turmeric
  • 1 lemon
Method

Put a large pan with a drizzle of oil over a medium heat.

When the oil is hot, add the onions and fry until coloured and softened (about 10 minutes).

Add the garlic, chilli and ginger and fry for a further 3-4 minutes.

Add the ground spices and cook for a minute or so.

Now add the tomato paste with a splash of water and cook for a further minute.

Pour in the chopped tomatoes and the chickpeas, season well with salt and pepper and stir everything together.

Put a lid on the pan and allow the curry to simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Remove the pan from the heat and squeeze in the juice from half of the lemon.

Serve the curry with rice and/or flatbreads (we just used some pittas) along with wedges cut from the remaining half of the lemon.

 

10 thoughts on “Chana Masala (Chickpea and Tomato Curry)

  1. Yum! Does it freeze ok or is it one for the fridge? Glad you’re enjoying work 🙂

    • Dewi says:

      Thanks man! The curry freezes fine, I just take a portion out the night before and reheat when it’s defrosted.

      • Ah brilliant – will give it a go – massive fan of batch cooking, can’t beat the smugness of knowing there’s a cheeky curry waiting after a long day at work 🙂

      • Dewi says:

        Hah! Never considered that smugness before – I like your way of thinking dude.

  2. This looks fantastic Dewi! And I am really glad to hear you’re enjoying your new job, usually if the people there are great, half of job is done! 😀 I hope it continues that way 🙂
    As for the chana masala, I made two HUGE pots of that today for a place that was catering for a festival currently, but despite having worked with it for hours today, I still had it for lunch as well, SO tasty! 😀 I hope you’re having a lovely weekend 🙂 x

  3. chef mimi says:

    Batch cooking is very smart!!! Congratulations on the new job. It’s really nice to love your job, your boss, and your coworkers!!!

  4. Meg Brook says:

    I love your boss too. Also loved the Chana Masala which I cooked for dinner last evening. Keep up the veggie good work

  5. Liz says:

    I am making this for dinner tonight. Will keep you posted!

  6. […] I served the curry with some Syrian Onion Bread, which I am yet to post. The combination was great but the curry was way too much for my small family so I had lots of leftovers. I really enjoyed eating the curry and would highly recommend it to those who love chickpeas. Chickpeas are an excellent source of iron, phosphorus, protein and dietary fibre. They are low in fat and also have a low glycemic index. I hope you are enjoying autumn. I wish you a happy cooking. For original recipe, please click here. […]

  7. Liz says:

    Hi I made the chickpea curry and posted it today. I added a cup of coconut milk besides the suggested ingredients and it was a big hit. I really enjoyed eating it and this is certainly going to become a favourite of mine. Thanks for the recipe and wish you a wonderful week!

Leave a comment

Most Popular

Chilli and Red Onion Jam
Leftover Lamb Hot Pot
Perfect Porridge
Overnight Oats: Banana and Raisin
Leftover Roast Pork Stir Fry with Rice and Vegetables
My Ultimate Chilli Con Carne
Braised Rabbit Open Ravioli
Apple and Blackberry Flapjacks
Verrini Munari: Producers of Fine Italian Vinegar
Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 587 other subscribers
VegCharlotte

Living Vegan In Charlotte, NC

The Little Library Café

Cakes. Desserts. Sweets. And Books.

CHILLI & MINT

Torie True's cooking with herbs and spices and a sprinkling of travel

Things My Belly Likes

Where eating to live and living to eat are not mutually exclusive

With The Grains

Recipes for Connection.

Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983